Congratulations to our
Fire Protection Industry Award Winners for 2023!

This is the Australian fire protection industry’s dedicated awards event with winners taking their own special place within the lasting legacy of this industry.

The Fire Protection Industry Awards recognise and award businesses and individuals who lead the professional standard of commitment, excellence, innovation and leadership in the fire protection industry.

Award Winners

Congratulations to our Fire Protection Industry Awards Winners for 2023:

Board-Appointed Industry Award

A V Viscogliosi Award

This year only the A V Viscogliosi Award was given by the Board.

Kathryn Kinnear

Kathryn Kinnear from Bio Diverse Solutions was recognised for her significant contribution to both FPA Australia and the bushfire community.

Kathryn is a passionate advocate and supporter of the Bushfire Planning and Design (BPAD) accreditation scheme and for improving the professionalism of her sector.

Independently judged Industry Awards

Barry Lee Technical Excellence Award

Sponsored by Wormald Australia

Stevan Glanville, Civil Fire

Awarded for Steve’s knowledge and generosity in helping others in the industry.  Steve has been in the industry for over 20 years and has a breadth of experience and training across the fire protection sector.  He participates in various committees and is a regular contributor to SPARK.

Innovative Product and Technology Solution Award

Sponsored by Simpro


Diverse Fire Systems

Awarded for a new app, which eliminates the task of counting symbols on consultant design drawings, which reduces the time taken for quoting for work and minimises human error.  The app uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to deliver instant results with 99.7% accuracy.  contributor to SPARK.

Fire Protection Project of the Year

i-Fire Engineers

Awarded for a residential multi-block development over a common basement carpark containing two electric vehicle stations.  The project addressed the special hazard posed by these stations and provided a realistic Performance Solution that kept costs under control and could be replicated in the future.

Harry Marryatt Fire Protection Company of the Year Award

Civil Fire

Awarded for Civil Fire’s contributions to the fire protection industry and support of its employees, particularly in relation to staff training, technical advancement, community safety, ongoing professionalisation, emerging leading practice, and commitment to innovation.

Ron Coffey Award for Excellence in Bushfire Protection

Wayne Tucker, Australian Bushfire Consulting Services

Awarded for Wayne’s extensive knowledge and experience in bushfire services, including 15 years spent with NSW RFS as a volunteer, and his passion for keeping the community safe.  Wayne is well-known for getting involved in his local community and pushing for safety and education surrounding bushfires.  He is a BPAD Level 3 Certified Practitioner and an active member of the NSW Working Group.

Best exhibition stands

Best stand under 18m2


Best stand over 18m2


Best stand the people's choice award2

Johnson Controls

Corporate Platinum members

Wormald Australia

Johnson Controls Australia

FlameStop Australia

FireMate Software

Chubb Fire & Security

Kidde Australia

Thank you to Chubb Fire and Security

The Dinner was sponsored by Chubb Fire and Security and video messages of support were played from our Patron, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), Governor-General of Australia and our Ambassador, Professor Fiona Wood AM.

Fiona Wood Foundation

was contributed
$ 0

As is tradition, the event raised money for the Fiona Wood Foundation to support the vital work that the organisation does repairing lives damaged by fire, and we’re pleased to announce that a total of $36,210 was contributed. 

Attendees then let their hair down, were entertained by the Baker Boys, and caught up with their peers for a totally enjoyable evening.

Our thanks and appreciation go to everybody who attended the night and who supported this worthy cause.

Thank you to our independent judging panel

FPA Australia would like to thank this year’s independent judging panel for their time and support of the awards process:

Elvira Nigido, Global Technical Halocarbon Manager, A-Gas Australia

Brett Staines, Special Hazards Fire Protection Consultant

Russ Porteous, Chief Executive Officer, Firewize

Sincere thanks go out to all the participating companies and people who sent in their nominations this year, for without these the awards would not have been possible. 

And of course, congratulations to all the winners and finalists for their outstanding contributions to the industry.

We can't wait to see what the next 12 months has in store!

2023 Industry Awards